The Golden Years: 1990 - 2011

The 1990’s was the start of a “Golden Era” for Fremantle CBC. Heart breaking back to back Grand Final losses for the B Colts in 1991 & 1992 forged a steely resolve amongst the club that success was not going to come easy but it was something the club as a whole was fully prepared to work hard to achieve. A huge influx of players from the Kardinya area, coupled with the unfortunate demise of both the Applecross Sunday League and Applecross Numbats football club’s both of whom merged with CBC during this period proved to be the catalyst for our growth and success.

Former player Paul Bennett returned as B grade coach in 1994 and tasted success in his first season back in a side littered with greats of our club such as Joe Lawrence, Paul Piggott and Sean Brindley as well as the “new breed” of Michael Porter, Brad Gardner and Andrew Frazer.

1996 however was one of great loss, one of our founding members, ourall-time games record holder, an inaugural Hall of Fame inductee, man who coached, captained, presided over and loved our club with so much passion it was infectious sadly passed away, I speak of none other than Thomas Keaven Naylor.  His legacy will live on forever.

The club had also been working hard off the field and in conjunction with the Melville City Council, secured a move to our new home at Morris Buzzacot Reserve and the construction of the magnificent facilities we enjoy to this day. Lights were installed and night footy had come to CBC, a far cry from the old days of the players parking on the oval and turning on their car headlights in order to train.

The club went onto secure 6 more premiership’s in the 1990’s, considering we had only won 5 in the preceding 58 years this was a truly exciting time to be a part of Fremantle CBC.

The 2000’s started with the biggest bang in WAAFL history with a feat many claim with never be matched, on a fine spring day in September 2000 the Fremantle CBC Amateur football club not only made all 3 A grade grand finals but went onto win all 3 in convincing fashion starting the biggest party the club has even seen. The A grade broke a 33 year drought to record our 2nd A grade flag and destroyed arch rivals North Fremantle in all facets of the game in the process under the masterful guidance of the late Kerry Coates.

During the regular season the club (with then 5 teams) won an astonishing 78 from 90 regular season games, after decades of limited and sporadic success, the club built on the great colts Premiership teams of the late 90’s and launched itself as the premier WAAFL club.

Success continued to flow with the A reserves recording back to back flags in taking out the 2001 title, and who can forget the full time draw at Leederville oval in 2003 when Sean Brindley guided his charges to a stirring victory in overtime. The thirds took all before then between with a three peat from 2005 to 2007. The reserves were at it again in 2008, the E grade in 2010 and the newly added All Abilities boys in 2011.

This was truly the “Golden Age”, 18 Premierships in 22 years, a club expanding in numbers year by years, 9 teams, the best facilities in the league bar none, a state of the art grounds lighting system and 80 years of history behind us.